Home » About » Governing Council


Mar Thoma College is committed to empowering its students and staff to attain the full human potential as revealed in the person and teaching of Jesus Christ.



His Grace The Most Rev. Dr. Joseph Mar Thoma Metropolitan

Governing Council

The College is managed by the Governing Council constituted by the Mar Thoma Sabha Council of the The Mar Thoma Syrian Church of Malabar. The Governing Council consists of 12 members, with one of the Bishops as the Chairperson. The Principal is the Secretary of the Governing Council. There is also one elected representative of the faculty in the Governing Council. The remaining members are either nominated or elected by the Sabha Council, or co-opted by the Governing Council. The Governing Council takes important decisions regarding administration and also matters such as the starting of new courses, development of infra-structural facilities, review of policies and so on.

Members of the Governing Council

  • His Grace The Most Rev. Dr. Joseph Mar Thoma Metropolitan
  • Rev. Lal Cherian
  • Dr. K. T. Philip (Treasurer)
  • Adv. Elizabeth George
  • Adv. Binu V. Eapen
  • Dr. M. O. Koshy
  • Dr. Mathew Varkey
  • Adv. K. Ponnachen
  • Dr. Roys P. David
  • Dr. Saji Chacko
  • Dr. Varughese Mathew
  • Dr. Icy K. John, Principal (Secretary)


College Council

The College Council is a statutory body consisting of the Principal (Chairman), the various heads of departments and four elected members of the teaching staff. The internal affairs of the college are administered by the Principal in consultation with the College Council. The Council makes regular assessment of the curricular and co-curricular activities on the campus and makes all relevant proposals concerning planning and developments. The council also recommends the nomination of various teachers as directors, president and members of the committees and associations which steer the curricular and co-curricular activities on the campus.